About Me

A midlife blogger embracing middle age with purpose & serenity. Stories of inspiration & humour to get through a midlife crisis and a spouse with bipolar.
LIVINGWITHBATMAN

Elena Peters

making•midlife•matter

 

 

Fifty. Unfreaking believable. I know it is a cliché but where did the time go? It seems like yesterday I was finishing university and getting my first “real” job in an Accounting Office. Being a true Capricorn, I made major job changes every ten years, ending up at the age of 49 at a major international retail company in upper management. Unsatisfied and thankfully supported by my husband, I quit my job and began my journey of self-realization.

I spent the first six months cleaning and being the perfect housewife. And I soon found out that the more I did, the less everyone else did because, “Mom doesn’t work now, she will do it”. Strangely, this thankless and never-ending vocation did nothing to give me direction or purpose.

I literally fell into blogging through a back door, so to speak. My husband was diagnosed with Bipolar very soon after we were married. I would constantly be on social media, connecting with other spouses and people who have the same disorder. After a few Internet chats, I connected with a woman who had a blog about bipolar. She asked me to write some guest posts from a caregivers’ point of view. Most of those posts have now been transferred here and can be found under the category Bipolar. You can also find me talking about my experiences or on YouTube.

I fell in love with blogging and decided to create my own blog for midlife women. Thus, Living with Batman was born. I like to cover all topics concerning baby boomer women but have an affinity for quality of life posts. I love to help women find a new purpose and true happiness in the second halves of their lives. I hope to create a space that is filled with parts laughter, information and inspiration.

 

 

Join me as I share my humour and bits of wisdom as a woman entering the prime of her life. I’m not afraid, I’m walking towards the light! I look forward to retirement, afternoon naps, 4 o’clock suppers and speaking my mind. Sounds pretty awesome to me!

 

Personal, quirky, need to know info about me:

  • I am the youngest of 4 siblings.
  • I live in the city I was born in.
  • Huge, huge Corrie Street fan.
  • Deathly afraid of needles
  • Ironically, oldest son has type one diabetes.
  • Married the man of my dreams (second time’s a charm).
  • My husband is a native San Diegan and we hope to retire there.
  • Together, we have 4 wonderful children, 3 dogs, 2 cats & one very busy, noisy house!
  • We love them all but we are so ready for them to leave.

Thank you for visiting and I hope you enjoy your stay.

Oh and BTW, I live with a Bipolar, Addict (recovering), Treated (with medication), man.